Elk, elk, elk… yep, Montana is the largest habitat of Elks. Montana is also referred to as the treasure state because it is rich in gold, silver and the like. And for you landlords out there, Montana proves a relatively landlord-friendly state. While it is always important to keep your eyes on law changes, Montana is more relaxed in its landlord-tenant statutes in comparison to other states.
At a Glance:
Security Deposit Limit: There are no stated regulations regarding on a maximum limit for a security deposit.
Late Fee Limit: Montana has no specified limitations for how much a landlord may charge when tenant is late on the rent. It is wise that a landlord keep it reasonably related to expenses that are incurred as a result of the late rent.
Late Fee Chargeable After: Montana law is silent on this issue.
Returned Payment Fee Limit: No greater than $30 may be charged.
Notice to End Lease: 30 days for open-ended month-to-month rental agreements.
Although there are no limitations on how much a landlord may take for a security deposit, there are specifics regarding its return to the tenant at the end of the lease. If there are no deductions for unpaid rent or damages, the full amount must be returned before the end of ten days after move-out or inspection. If there are any deductions made, landlord must return the balance thereof, as applicable, along with a statement of deductions within thirty days.
When a tenant moves and leaves personal property behind, the landlord must ascertain what is valuable and keep it in a safe place. Montana statute 70-24-430 goes into great detail in the handling of such items. For instance, a notification must be sent to the tenant to retrieve the items before the landlord may dispose of them.
Rental Property Registration
Statewide: There are no current requirements in place for state registration.
Local: Make sure and check with your locality. Currently, there are several locations that do require short-term rental units to be registered.
Landlord Right of Entry
Unless there is an emergency, a landlord must give a tenant at least 24 hours’ notice of before entering the rental unit. And entrance may only be made during reasonable times. A Landlord may only enter for valid reasons such as repairs, maintenance, inspection or modifications to the property.
In summary, even though Montana is more relaxed than other states in its regulations, it is important to use a strong, landlord-protective lease. And, Spark Rental just so happens to have one of the best Montana state-specific leases available!
Questions? Ask a Montana Attorney!
Have questions about Montana landlord-tenant laws? No sweat, we have you covered. Ask in the box below, to have your questions answered by living, flesh-and-blood attorneys. You can even name your own price for the answers, and only pay if you’re satisfied!
DISCLAIMER: Wellspring Financial LLC DBA SparkRental.com is for informational purposes only! Any information, legal or otherwise is provided “as is” without any representations, truth, accuracy, exactness or warranties, expressed or implied. Any data, form, or information provided shall NOT be construed or taken to be legal advice. You must NOT rely on any data, form, or information on this website as an alternative to obtaining sound, legal advice from a licensed or professional legal service provider.