In Wisconsin renters make up about 33% all households. The cost of living and rents are more affordable than most other states. If that is not enough, Wisconsin has landlord-friendly state laws.
At a Glance
Late Fees: Wisconsin has no stated limits placed on a late charge.
Security Deposit: There is no stipulated limitation on what a landlord may collect for a security deposit.
Returned Payment Fee Limit: The limit for a returned payment fee is $25.
Notice to Enter: Wisconsin landlords must provide 12 hours’ notice before entering the rental premises.
Application Fee: There are no stated laws regarding limitations on how much an application fee can be.
Late Fee: There are no limitations placed on the amount of a late charge a landlord may charge.
Returned Payment Fees: Returned payment fees may not exceed $25.
There is no stated limitation on what a landlord may collect for a security deposit in the state of Wisconsin.
The landlord must return the full security deposit or the balance, if any along with a statement of deductions no later than 21 days after the tenant vacates the rental premises.
Wisconsin, like many other states stipulates that the landlord is responsible to make the premises fit and habitable. This includes making repairs within a reasonable amount of time.
(article continues below)
Landlord Right of Entry
In Wisconsin, unless there is an emergency, the landlord must provide 12-hours’ notice before entering the property.
Notice to End Lease
Month-to-month: Requires a 28-day notice
Fixed: Notice as specified in the lease
Year-to-year: Requires a 5-day notice
In Wisconsin, the landlord has two ways to proceed with an eviction.
There is the 5-day notice which provides a 5-days, not including weekends or holidays, to pay arrears and/or cure any default.
If the time elapses with no remediation, the 14 days’ notice would be served with no opportunity to cure. After the 14 days pass, also not including weekend or holidays, the landlord may file for court eviction. See our free eviction notices to edit and download them.
Illegal activity: If a tenant is involved or commits illegal activity, the landlord may issue a 5-Day Notice to Vacate. Under these circumstances, there is no need for the landlord give the tenant a chance to cure.
DISCLAIMER: Wellspring Financial LLC DBA SparkRental.com is for informational purposes only! Any information, legal or otherwise is provided “as is” without any representations, truth, accuracy, exactness or warranties, expressed or implied. Any data, form, or information provided shall NOT be construed or taken to be legal advice. You must NOT rely on any data, form, or information on this website as an alternative to obtaining sound, legal advice from a licensed or professional legal service provider.