Wyoming has the smallest population in the Union, and the home of the Yellowstone National Park. Wyoming offers landlord-friendly rental laws.
At a Glance:
Late Fees: Wyoming has no stated limits placed on a late charge.
Security Deposit: There is no stipulated limitation on what a landlord may collect for a security deposit.
Returned Payment Fee Limit: The limit for a returned payment fee is $30.
Notice to Enter: Wyoming has no landlord tenant statutes regarding when and how much notice is needed to enter.
Application Fee: There are no stated laws regarding limitations on how much an application fee can be.
Late Fee: There are no limitations placed on the amount of a late charge a landlord may charge.
Returned Payment Fees: Returned payment fees may not exceed $30.
Security Deposit Rules
There is no stated limitation on what a landlord may collect for a security deposit in the state of Wyoming.
The landlord must return the full security deposit or the balance, if any along with a statement of deductions no later than 15 days after the tenant vacates the rental premises and has provided a forwarding address. If the tenant does not provide a forwarding address, the landlord has 30-days to return the security deposit.
(article continues below)
Wyoming Statutes § 1-21-1203 requires the landlord to offer and maintain a safe and fit premises that protects the health and safety of the tenant.
Right of Entry
In Wyoming, the statutes are silent on how much notice is needed for the landlord to enter the premises. Best to spell this out in the rental lease agreement.
Notice to End Lease
Wyoming has no stipulations regarding how much time is needed to end a lease. As a matter of fact, it is one of the only states that does not have stipulations regarding ending the lease. To protect themselves, a landlord wants to use a good, strong rental lease agreement that spells out lease end requirements.
Non-Payment of Rent: When the tenant fails to pay rent, the landlord must provide a 3-day notice to quit. This is sent after any specified grace-period in the lease. If the tenant does not pay what is due by the end of the 3 days, the landlord may file in court for formal eviction.
Lease Violation other than Non-payment (including illegal activity): If there is a breach or violation of the lease, the landlord provides a 3-day notice to the tenant. This notice does not have to provide the tenant opportunity to fix the issue. At the end of the three days, the landlord may file in court for formal eviction.
Download free Wyoming eviction notice templates through our landlord software.
DISCLAIMER: Wellspring Financial LLC DBA SparkRental.com is for informational purposes only! Any information, legal or otherwise is provided “as is” without any representations, truth, accuracy, exactness or warranties, expressed or implied. Any data, form, or information provided shall NOT be construed or taken to be legal advice. You must NOT rely on any data, form, or information on this website as an alternative to obtaining sound, legal advice from a licensed or professional legal service provider.