Renowned for its maple syrup, Vermont is the home of John Deere, and unfortunately for landlords, a vastly tenant-friendly state.
At a Glance:
Late Fees: Vermont has no specified limits on the amount of a late fee.
Security Deposit: Vermont has no stated law regarding the limitations on security deposit amount.
Returned Payment Fee Limit: Charging NSF fees in Vermont is not permitted.
Notice to Enter: In Vermont, landlords must provide an advance notification of at least 2 days’ (48 hours) before entering the leased premises. Landlords can also only enter between the hours of 9 am and 9 pm. Landlords are not required to get permission to enter during emergencies.
Application Fee/Late Fee/Returned Check Fees
In accordance with 9 V.S.A. § 4456a, a landlord may not charge an application fee directly to any applicant who requests to apply for a rental unit.
Although Vermont has no stated limits on what may be charged for a late fee, it must be spelled out in the lease agreement.
According to 8 V.S.A. § 10505, returned check fees also know as NSF charges are not permitted in the state of Vermont. With that being said, most financial institutions have the limit set as $25. It is important to check with an attorney regarding returned payments.
Vermont has no specifications in its landlord tenant law of any limits of how much that may be charged for a security deposit.
At the end of the tenancy, the security deposit must be returned within fourteen days. Either the entire amount is to be returned or a statement of deductions along with any payment as applicable.
Vermont landlords must keep the rental premises safe and habitable. Additionally, repairs must be made within thirty days of the request.
(article continues below)
Landlord Right of Entry
The landlord must notify the tenant at least 2 days’ (48 hours) before entering the leased premises for non-emergencies. Additionally, the landlord can only enter between 9 am and 9 pm. The exception is emergencies where the landlord may enter to secure the premises.
Notice to End Lease Agreement
Year to year leases or Fixed term require notification of at least 60 days for tenancies under 2-years; and 90 Days for those over 2-years.
Month to month leases would require at least 30 days notification.
Week to week, requires at least 21 days’ notice.
Evictions in Vermont depend on the type of violation.
For those who have not paid rent or violated a lease term or condition, the landlord must provide a 30-day Notice to Pay or Quit. This gives the tenant 30-days from the date of the notice to either correct the violation, pay all amounts due or vacate the premises. If the tenant fails to correct any of these matters, the landlord may file in court for eviction.
If a tenant commits an illegal action such as illegal drug use, the landlord may then issue a 14-Day Unconditional Notice to Quit. This provides that the tenant must vacate within 2 weeks or face formal eviction proceedings.
DISCLAIMER: Wellspring Financial LLC DBA SparkRental.com is for informational purposes only! Any information, legal or otherwise is provided “as is” without any representations, truth, accuracy, exactness or warranties, expressed or implied. Any data, form, or information provided shall NOT be construed or taken to be legal advice. You must NOT rely on any data, form, or information on this website as an alternative to obtaining sound, legal advice from a licensed or professional legal service provider.